Herbartstrasse Synagogue

liberal with choir and organ

The synagogue, located within the complex of the Jeanette Wolff Senior Centre and the Leo Baeck Home for the Aged, was consecrated in 1981, one year after the centre’s official opening. Jeanette Wolff (1888 – 1976) was a member of the Berlin city council and federal parliament. A devoted trade unionist, she was an active member of the Jewish community’s Central Welfare Agency as well as one of post-war Germany’s most prominent female liberal-Jewish leaders.

Leo Baeck (1873-1956) was a highly respected rabbi, philosopher and religious leader in Germany. His work for the Berlin Jewish community, which began in 1912, included a tenure at the College for Jewish Studies (Hochschule für die Wissenschaft des Judentums) through 1942. In 1933 he was appointed president of the Reich's Deputation of the German Jews (Reichsvertretung der deutschen Juden). After his liberation from the Theresienstadt ghetto, he took up residence in London.

Hans Wolff-Grohmann designed the synagogue’s sanctuary. Its foyer contains several columns that had once adorned a synagogue destroyed in the war – presumably from the Neue Synagoge (New Synagogue) on Oranienburger Strasse.


Source: "Jüdische Orte in Berlin", Andreas Nachama/Ulrich Eckhardt. Copyright by Nicolai Verlag

Gabbaim of Herbartstrasse Synagogue

Garry Wolff (since 1995)
Tel.: +49-(0) 30 - 32 69 59 12
Fax: +49-(0) 30 - 32 69 59 50 01

  • Head of the nursing home and deputy head of the Seniors Centre
  • Married / two daughters

Matthias Press, age 41 (2009) Mobile: +49-(0) -160 25 03 24 2

  • Interior architect
  • Self employed with own firm in Berlin

For synagogue news, click here.

For the schedule of religious services, click here. 


Donations for Herbartstraße synagogue can be made to:

Jüdische Gemeinde zu Berlin, Synagoge Herbartstraße
Konto  6000031201
BLZ  100 500 00
Berliner Sparkasse

IBAN: DE42100500006000031201  

Address & Contact

Synagoge Herbartstraße

Herbartstr. 26
14057 Berlin


Kabbalat Schabbat

Winter 17:30

Sommer 18:00

Schabbat Schacharit

ganzjährig 9:30

Send a message